HPS and FPGA communication Arria 10 SoC

Hello :slight_smile: ,

I’m working on project in which i need to create a communication between HPS and FPGA, the platform i’m using is Arria 10 SoC, i’m a beginner to SoCs , i need to send information from HPS to FPGA than the FPGA will process these informations (input) and send the output back to the HPS .
so what i’m asking for is how to begin to perform this task ? what should i do exactly ?

thank you :slight_smile:

I use small FIFOs to send commands and small data returns back and forth between the HPS and FPGA on my A10 SoC Devkit board. If you need to send more info you could just make your FIFOS bigger or start passing the data via on chip memory references. My standard setup for commands is I send four 32 bit integers from HPS, then get four 32 bit data items back from FPGA. That way all my FIFO exchanges are the same format and it is quick. I run the FPGA side of the FIFO at 100MHz. The HPS side uses a few memory map calls to access the FIFO’s. Its a quick and dirty solution but I don’t have much heavy traffic to send to the HPS in my work so it works for me.

1 Like

Hi , thank you for the response ,
that’s exactly what i’m searching for, can you please tell me how to do it.
what should i study ? books ? tuto ?
thank you again.
Farhat

I can send you an example project so you see how the parts work. Because this involves a few different pieces that work together (HPS mapped interface, FIFO state machine(s), and the FPGA processing that is separate from the HPS I/O it works better to see an example.
I haven’t posted attachments on this board before but I think to include code in zip files I need to post it in the Projects section. I’ll look into that and let you know (probably later today - I have a meeting this morning).

1 Like

thank you , good luck with the meeting :slight_smile: