Looking for a mentor / teacher

Hi everybody,
I have followed many tutorials and how-to’s to get the Quartus programmer working from my Ubuntu 16.04 system but no luck unfortunately. I purchased a DE10 Standard with HPS and got a linux version working on it but still no interaction with the FPGA; I do no (the basics) how to write vhdl and configure a system on the FPGA (if I could tranfer the design to the board that is) and what I would like is to configure the FPGA from the HPS / Linux; I followed tutorials / examples for this, but unfortunately no luck as well. I am a little bit disappointed in some communications I received recently from Altera / Intel when I asked some questions to the support people (I got the feeling I am not really interesting anymore since I am a hobby-ist). I have some experience in Linux commands / command line, but the true in-depth-knowledge I am still lacking. I am eager to learn and not willing to give up so I am looking for someone who would like to be my “mentor” or “teacher” so I can get the understanding of the “how” and “why”. Anyone who wants to help me or give me directions: please contact me and thank you in advance! Best regards, Richard

You mean you will pay the person? Learning this platforms takes some time. You have to learn how to do the hardware (VHDL, verilog, OpenCL), how to use Quartus and Qsys, understand how HPS and FPGA are interconnected and learn how to do the software. I leave you here an starting guide I did with some documentation a beginner should read from my point of view. The community about this boards is small. The only way to learn is doing tutorials, reading the documentation or asking here. You can ask Altera and Terasic about specific errors but not for learning.

Regards

1 Like

Hi Roberto,