Arrow SoCKit: Adding Altera UART to GSRD v 13.1

Hello.
I’m a newbie in SoCKit programming, and I have the following problem: I
created GSRD v 13.1 SD card (using Arrow SoCKit Getting Started on the rocketboards.org),
and it worked, but then I added UART RS-232 interface in FPGA to use it
in HPS, and now it hangs during boot. The last message of the boot log
is:

Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 2 ports, IRQ sharing disabled 
ffc02000.serial0: ttyS0 at MMIO 0xffc02000 (irq = 690) is a 8250 console
 [ttyS0] enabled

The board is Arrow sockit Rev C

What did I do to add UART:

1. Added UART (RS-232 Serial Port) component in Qsys

2. Connected clk, reset, s1, irq, create external connection

3. Set start address as 0x0001_00e0.

4. Clicked generate

5. Compiled .sof

6. Generated .rbf based on this .sof

7. Generated Device Tree, based on new .sopcinfo.
    The new information in it is:

my_uart: serial@0x1000100E0 {
    compatible = “ALTR,uart-13.1”, “ALTR,uart-1.0”, “altr,uart-1.0”;
    reg = < 0x00000001 0x000100E0 0x00000020 >;
    interrupt-parent = < &hps_0_arm_gic_0 >;
    interrupts = < 0 43 4 >;
    current-speed = < 115200 >; /* embeddedsw.dts.params.current-speed type NUMBER /
    clock-frequency = < 50000000 >; /
    embeddedsw.dts.params.clock-frequency type NUMBER */
    }; //end serial@0x1000100E0 (my_uart)

8. Copied .rbf and .dbt to SD card

9. Started linux boot, and it hanged as I said in the beginning.

Can anybody help me to understand what is the problem?

I suspect that the problem is the Altera UART driver, but I am not sure, and still do not know how to fix it.

Hi!!! It looks everything OK!
I have some questions!!
In step 5, do you mean you compile the whole project in quartus? After generate QSYS and finish you have to compile the whole project!
What do you have under chosen @ dts file??
Does the UART0 on the HPS still there?? (in qsys>hps_0>peripheral pins) or you removed it??
bye

Hello! Thank you for your reply.