DE10-Nano Manual instructions fail to compile GHRD on Ubuntu (SOLVED)

Hello

I’m new to Cyclone V tools and am struggling to get the stock GHRD to compiile as described in the manual. Would some kind and experienced soul take a quick peek to find out what I’m doing wrong?

It’s a DE10-Nano Cylcone V development board rev B2 from Terasic, and I’m following the instructions in the User Manual (rev B2) chapter 7 “Examples for using both the HPS SoC and FPGA”

It’s on a freshly-installed Ubuntu 16.04.3 server, at AWS.

It’s a straightforward compilation of the GHRD (open project .qpf file, Tools>Qsys: open .qsys file, Generate>Generate HDL). Following the instructions very carefully, I get four warnings and screenfuls of errors, the first of which is something to do with a missing file hps_AC_ROM.hex

Error: border: Error during execution of script generate_hps_sdram.tcl: seq: \
    add_fileset_file: \
   No such file /tmp/alt7540_4530398708016069914.dir/0003_seq_gen/hps_AC_ROM.hex
Error: border: Error during execution of script generate_hps_sdram.tcl: \
   Generation stopped, 3 or more modules remaining
Error: border: Execution of script generate_hps_sdram.tcl failed

The warnings were

Warning: hps_0.f2h_irq0: Cannot connect clock for irq_mapper_001.sender
Warning: hps_0.f2h_irq0: Cannot connect reset for irq_mapper_001.sender
Warning: hps_0.f2h_irq1: Cannot connect clock for irq_mapper_002.sender
Warning: hps_0.f2h_irq1: Cannot connect reset for irq_mapper_002.sender

Can some kind soul tell me what I should do to get it compiled? (Complete details of my steps below).

Many thanks,
Jonathan.

Below here is just exact details of what I was doing, probably no need to read

Compilation system is freshly installed Ubuntu 16.04 LTS server
CDROM image was from Terasic: DE10-Nano_v.1.2.4_HWrevB2_SystemCD.zip
This is my project directory:
cp -Rp cdrom/Demonstrations/SoC_FPGA/DE10_NANO_SoC_GHRD ~/GHRD
File DE10_NANO_SoC_GHRD.qsf seems to say it’s done in Quartus 16.0