Ethernet to GPIO...very fast

I just ordered the De0-Nano-SoC and I am waiting for it to arrive. During my wait, I am trying to learn all I can about this device.
My initial goal will be to connect the device to my PC and transfer a data stream through the Ethernet port, over the HPS to FPGA bus and out through 8 GPIO pins at hopefully at a 10 GB/s rate or better. Are there any examples that are similar to my needs?

10 GHz over a 8bit parallel bus? I’m far from an expert but that sounds optimistic to me. Do you plan on using some kind of differential signaling or plain single ended? Will you also have a clock signal (which would have to run at 20GHz in this situation)?

Oops, I meant to type 6 MB/s on average. The GPIO needs to output up to 10MB/s at 60% width packets at about 45ms intervals. The De0-Nano-SoC device has a 1 Gigabit/s Ethernet.

Ah! that sounds more sane all of a sudden :slight_smile:

10MHz on the FPGA’s IO shouldn’t be much of an issue AFAIK, although you might run into difficulties depending on what you do with the parallel signal once it leaves the FPGA. If it doesn’t go very far on your PCB and you match your lines decently I think it shouldn’t be too difficult to make it work, however if you intend to go over long distances and/or a noisy environment it might get trickier. There’s a reason modern high speed interfaces are generally serial and differential!

10MB/s on gigabit ethernet should be relatively easy to achieve, however you might run into latency issues. What happens if there’s a delay on the network and your hardware FIFO starves? Is it a problem? Do you need a deep buffer to protect against that? Is there a limit to how much you can buffer, do you have latency constraints? The answer to these questions might orient your design.